Wilderness Wales


Brecon Beacons National Park

Rolling Hills, Escarpments & Waterfalls

Brecon Beacons Inversion

The Brecon Beacons National Park comprises a range of hills stretching from east to west. In the park is found an interesting mixture of rolling hills, steep escarpments and wooded valleys filled with waterfalls. There are a number of different geological layers to the park. In the north are found the highest peaks, formed mostly of old red sandstone. In the centre is a band of limestone giving rise to extensive cave systems. To the south is found millstone grit, giving rise to craggy hills and spectacular waterfalls.

The Brecon Beacons park can be divided into four distinct areas, from west to east these are Mynydd Du, Fforest Fawr, the Central Beacons and the Black Mountains. In addition to these, the Ystradfellte Falls area of Fforest Fawr contains such a high concentration of waterfalls that it merits special mention as an area in its own right. Hence I've divided the park into five areas.